KONG: SKULL ISLAND – MOVIE REVIEW

*SPOLIER FREE*

Get the popcorn at the ready for this action extravaganza!

A sort of sequel/prequel to 2014’s “Godzilla”, Kong: Skull Island further adds to the new Kaiju Universe which is taking shape. Set In 1973, a company known as “Monarch” are trying to hunt down quote “massive terrestrial organisms” i.e. Kong. They want to explore this uncharted island in the south Pacific where they are accompanied by Samuel. L. Jackson’s group of soldiers, decommissioned SAS member, war photographer and a group of scientists. When they get to island events occur which cause them all to become split up and desperate to escape, thus giving us a monster movie.

Let’s start off with the things I liked about this film.

  1. Firstly I really liked the cast for this film. I thought they all gave very solid performances which really immersed me into this island and I started to care for some of the characters (which doesn’t normally happen in a monster movie). In particular I really liked John C Reilly’s character Marlow. He plays a man who became trapped on the island long before our group gets there and acts as a comedic relief for the film as he has went kind of crazy. There was also an element of sadness as you started to feel sorry for him when he would talk about his old life and family. Samuel L Jackson was also great at playing the army colonel who had a personal grudge against Kong and tries to take him down.
  2. Secondly, I thought Kong was awesome. There are scenes where he is just tearing up shit and causing all sorts of mayhem which make for some really intense and edge of your seat action. Like 2014’s Godzilla, Kong may not be the only thing our group should be careful of…
  3. Lastly (to keep it brief) I really enjoyed how the island’s animals and creatures were shown off- some in awesome short action sequences and others in simpler sequences. It again brought me into the world of Kong and creates a very good immersive experience.

 

Okay so let’s talk about the things I wasn’t too keen on.

  1. Firstly, I think there were just too many people in this film that tried to serve a purpose. This limited the amount of characters I could invest in as there were too many to try to invest in! This led me to be able to determine who might not make it out alive and who would- before they even made it onto the island. It’s not that I thought the characters were boring I just thought there were too many.
  2. The script sometimes was a little off. Not exactly way off just sometimes it was a bit plain and simple. The characters did bring it to life a bit but the actual dialogue was sometimes too plain. Some parts were great but others sometimes dropped below just a tad.
  3. Lastly, the CGI was sometimes a little lacklustre. Some green screen sections were waaayyy to obvious and that really detached me and reminded me “oh shit, yeah, this is a film” then I had to completely re-immerse myself again. It’s weird how the monsters of the film looked great but at times the backgrounds didn’t.

 

Overall, Kong: Skull Island is a great film to watch with a group of your friends, sit back and eat lots of popcorn. It keeps you on the edge of your seat at times with some awesome actions sequences. Sometimes the script and CGI fall short but these are only for brief sections of the film and I’m sure they won’t bother you too much. If you enjoyed Godzilla in 2014 then I am positive you will enjoy Kong; Skull Island.

VERDICT- 8/10

Leave a Reply

